Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

So at church our pastor introduced a section of a song by Helen H Lemmel.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

Let’s step into the lives of two people I know.

Person A

I flinched as the light being filtered through the blinds hit my eyelids. Bottles and the familiar red cups littered the  floor. A damp area of carpet next to the adjacent sofa reminded me of the little incident involving dinner, my friend N, her stomach and the carpet. I stood up. I was welcomed by a throbbing headache along with a vile taste in my mouth.
My friend J was making breakfast.

“Hey bro, crazy party last night aye, you drank a lot yourself, what a beast!”

Fistbump.

“Will you be coming to A’s party next Friday?, she has some pretty cute friends coming along!”
The thought of alcohol made my stomach turn. I gagged silently.
“Sure, wouldn’t miss it for anything.”
I forced a smile.

Person B

Steam rose from the cup of tea before me. Across from me sat a friend I had just met 3 weeks ago. I reached into my bag and pulled out a bible, notepad and a pen. I took a deep breath.

“Hey man, you’ve probably noticed I’m a Christian over these past couple of weeks that we’ve been friends and I would love to share with you the most important thing in my life, my faith.”

It has been almost 3 years since I was person A. What I lived for were Friday night parties, alcohol, girls and acceptance. All these things never really gave me long-lasting happiness, more of a dose that would subside by the morning. Reflecting on the song and being person B, the things of the world that I used to live for seem “strangely dim”. All those things seem so meaningless to me now. It’s the strangest feeling ever to see the things you used to love and now find barely any interest in them. It really reminds us all of how God has been slowly shaping and molding us to be more like Jesus, aligning us with His will and helping us turn away from sin.

I was introduced to this song through going to Equip Conference 2016 , such a great reminder of the victory over death through Jesus!

Leave a Reply

