The Little Prince

So over the course of a semester, I read an intriguing book for grown-ups disguised as a children’s book. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

Front cover of the book.

I was recommended this book by a friend who was on the same mission trip as I was on during last summer. I was skeptical at first, expecting it to be a simple story, and yes it was, on the surface anyway. Antoine was very clever in the way he portrayed his ideas. He used two main characters, the narrator and the little prince to show the contrast between an adult and a child. More specifically he talks about the respective ways in which an adult and a child views the world.

Antoine brings up many great themes such as the dangers of narrow-mindedness and the responsibilities that come with relationships. These themes left me pondering where I stand in how I handle relationships and my degree of narrow-mindedness now that I close in on the age of 21. Definitely an eye-opener and something I should think about more.

This book also has some very wonderful quotes. Here are a couple of my favourites.

“But I have made him my friend, and now he is unique in all of the world”

“But the eyes are blind. One must look with the heart…”

I highly recommend this book. Some advice would be to take it slow. Let the images fill your mind and imagine you are sitting along side the narrator. The journey the little prince brings you on is something that you shouldn’t miss a second of.

Leave a Reply

