Wait What? That Was A Lie?

I can’t believe it took me 20 years to finally realize. To realize that it was all a lie. Let me show you what I’m talking about.

Eraser
“An eraser that erases both pen ink and pencil led”

Over dinner, a friend of mine asked “You know those double sided erasers back in the day with the one side with another color? What were they for?”. With much confidence I answered “It erases ink from a pen!”. Everyone at the table looked at me, a couple holding back laughter. I later found out that the colored side was used on rough thick paper, it did not erase ink. Thanks Google.

I don’t remember who told me that when I was young but I’ve held onto this lie until just recently. Maybe my 5 year old brain had dreamt this idea up. This got me thinking, what other lies have I told myself as a child?. I’ve compiled a few of my favorites below.

  1.  Cats are female dogs.
    It just made so much sense as a child. Dogs were always male, and cats were always female. Maybe that was due to television.

  2. A kiss on the lips could get someone pregnant.
    So you can imagine how shocked I was every time someone kissed on a TV show.

  3. 3. If you wrapped yourself in your blankets nothing could hurt you.
    Well I still feel pretty safe wrapped up warm and snug in bed as a 20 year old. I guess I’m still a kid at heart.

If I thought these things up in my own head, I wonder what silly things I would have said out loud. On an entirely different note, all this reminiscing brings me back to a song I feel my Mum had introduced to me.

Leave a Reply

